



TRADE UNION MOVEMENT IN INDIA

TRADE UNION MOVEMENT

FIRST PHASE (1850 - 1903)

- Foundation of modern industries in India was laid between 1850 and 1870.
 - First Cotton Mill in 1853 in Bombay.
 - ☐ First Jute Mill in 1855 in Calcutta.
- Lord Dalhousie's Railway Minute of 1853
 - ☐ Envisaged a network of railways connecting main places with the ports and providing for strategic needs as well as commercial development.
- Sasipad Banerjee:
 - □ A Brahmo Samajist.
 - □ Founded "Working Men's Club" in 1870.
 - ☐ Started a monthly 'Bharat Shramjeebi' to educate workers.
- Sorabjee Shapoorji Bengalee in 1875 started agitation to draw attention of the Government towards deplorable conditions of women and children in Indian industries.
- Narayan Meghji Lokhande:
 - ☐ An associate of Jyotiba Phule.
 - □ Started a weekly 'Deenbandhu' from Bombay in 1880.
 - Founded Bombay Millhands Association 1890; was a labour union not a trade union, only gave free advice to millhands.
- First Factory Commission in 1875.

To enquire into the working conditions of the factories.

First Factory Act 1881:

- Applicable factories using mechanical powers and with employees of not less than 100 persons.
- Prohibited employment of children below 7.
- ☐ Limited number of working hours (9 hrs) for children between 7-12.
- Dangerous machine to be fenced.
- 4 holidays per month.
- Opposed by Ranade's 'Ouarterly Journal' and Tilak's Mahratta, as Nationalist opinion generally refused to concern itself with labour conditions in Indian-owned enterprises.
- Second Factory Commission 1884.
- Second Factory Act 1891:
 - Applied to all factories employing not less than 50 persons.
 - Limited working hours for women to 11 hrs with an interval of one and half hrs.
 - Increased minimum age of children from 7 to 9 and upper age from 12 to 14.
 - One day rest a week for all workers.

SECOND PHASE (1903-18)

- Labour Unrest in Bengal.
 - ☐ Strikes in white controlled enterprises. Reasons: rising prices and racial insults.
 - □ Pioneer labour leaders:
 - Aswini Kumar Banerjee
 - Prabhat Kusum Roychoudhari
 - 'Athanasius' Apurba Kr, Ghosh
 - Prematosh Bose
 - ☐ In September 1905: walkout of 247 clerks of Burn Company in Howrah in protest against a new work-regulation.
 - ☐ Tram strike in Calcutta in October 1905: settled through the efforts of Baneriee and Ghosh.
 - □ Strikes in Jute mills and railway workshops.
 - □ First Real Labour Union: Printers Union, set up on October 21, 1905.
 - Railway Men's Union in July 1906:
 - Set up by clerks.
 - To draw in the coolies.
 - ♦ Meetings at Asansol, Jamalpur and Raniganj.
 - □ Jute strikes frequent between 1905 and 1908 - affecting at various times 18 out of 37 mills.
 - □ Indian Millhands Union at Budgebudge in Aug 1906 by A.K. Banerjee.
 - □ Inspirer Journals
 - ♦ Pioneer: Anglo Indian journal
 - ♦ Nabasakti: Extremist journal
 - □ Tilak's arrest in 1908:
 - No real political or workers' strikes in Bengal, unlike Bombay.

- Plantation and mine labour unaffected.
- Nationalist interest in labour slumped totally after 1908 and would not be renewed before 1919-1921.
- Subramanian Shiva
 - A plebian agitator from Madura.
 - With Chidambaram Pillai preached message of swaraj and boycott.
 - ☐ Shiva caused workers strike at foreign owned Coral Cotton Mills Result: 50% rise in wages.
- Factory Acts of 1909 and 1911: concerned with Jute industry.
- Other Most Notable Organisations:
 - Amalgamated Society of Railway Servants of India (1897).
 - Postal Union in Bombay(1907).
 - Kamgar Hitvardhak Sabha (1909).
 - Social Service League (1911).
- Features of labour movement during pre-1918 phase:
 - Movement led mostly by social reformers and philanthropists, not by workers.
 - Leaders belonged to moderate school of politics.
 - There were sporadic organizations.
 - No trade union in true sense existed.

THIRD STAGE (1918- 26)

- After 1st World War, trade union movement got intensified.
- First Trade Union in India: Madras Labour Union in 1918.
 - Founders: G. Ramanajula Naidu and G. Chelvapati Chetti (both associated with Annie Besant's New India.
 - □ President: B.P. Wadia.